Meeting Minutes

Present:	Mr B Gemmell (Chancellor), Professor G Edwards (Vice-Chancellor), Mr D
	Cooper, Mrs M Ash, Prof Derrick Moot, Dr Marjan van den Belt, Mrs Liz Hill-
	Taiaroa (each a Council Member),

Via MS Teams: Prof James McWha (Pro-Chancellor), Mrs Janice Fredric, Mr James Parsons

5. Notice of items of General Business

There were no items of general business.

The Chancellor advised Council that he received the resignation of Peter Barrowclough, CEO of Lincoln Agritech, and announced this to staff. The Lincoln Agritech Board has appointed Dr Richard Gordon, former CEO of Manaaki Whenua | Landcare Research as an interim-CEO.

6. Vice Chancellors Report

The report was taken as read. The Vice Chancellor highlighted the following:

Vice Chancellors met the incoming Tertiary Education Minister to discuss the Higher Education Funding Review. At that meeting it was disclosed that:

- There is a possibility the PBRF funding round may be deferred.
- There will be a movement of "free fees" from the first year of study to the last year. Likely implementation in 2025.
- The unified funding system will be replaced by the SAC funding model. This may have a modest uplift in revenue circa \$500,000 for the University.
- The Children's University has 1475 members cross 45 schools and two Runanga and recently held a graduation ceremony.
- The graduation destination and student experience surveys have recently been completed. Lincoln continues to sustain high levels of graduate employment within six months of graduation at 84%.

Council RESOLVED:

1. To receive the information in the Vice Chancellor's Report.

MOTION CARRIED

Resolution

7. Academic Board Report

The report was taken as read.

The Chancellor asked the Vice Chancellor to pass on the thanks and best wishes of Council to the Academic Board for what has been a full and comprehensive year.

Council Resolved

That Council:

1. Note the Academic Board Report.

Resolution

MOTION CARRIED

8. Conferment of Degrees, Diplomas, and Certificates Report

The report was taken as read. The

Council Resolved

That Council approve the following awards:

Doctor of Philosophy

Maisam Ali, in Accounting and Finance Zainul **Azmi**, in Agricultural Economics Jinbo Li, in Soil Science Karla María López Reyes, in Applied Entomology Collins **Oduro**, in Agricultural Economics Aleksandra **Stojanovska**, in Sociology Xiaozhen **Ye**, in Tourism Management

Master of Business in Finance

Weiming Li, Merit Minghui Zhao, Merit

Resolution

Master of International Nature Conservation

(Jointly awarded with Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen, Germany) Jessica Bardey

Master of Landscape Architecture

Leucia Jayne Caves, Second Class Honours, Division I

Master of Science in Food Innovation

Gao Congyi, Merit

Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Science

Conor David Taylor

Postgraduate Diploma in Parks, Recreation and Tourism

Lucy Elizabeth Brown

Postgraduate Certificate in Commerce

Sarah Louise **McKenzie**, Distinction Cameron **Burton** Hamish Nigel **Murray** Kristen Gene **Robb**

Postgraduate Certificate in Environmental Management

Sarah Veronica Rae Fisher, Distinction

Graduate Diploma in Commerce

Cai Zihao

Graduate Diploma in Property Management

Wen Guan

Bachelor of Commerce

Ziwen Qiao, Individual Major

Diploma in Farm Management

Joshua Gray Dearden

Diploma in Horticulture

Raewyn Anne Cunningham

Diploma in University Studies

Benjamin Kar Hoe **Tan** Ega **Wibisono**

MOTION CARRIED

9. Convene Executive Committee Report

The report was taken as read.

Council Resolved

.

That Council:

1. **APPOINT** an Executive Committee comprising of the Chancellor, Pro-Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor and the Chair of Audit and Risk Committee (quorum to be three of these members) to be authorized to make any

Administration & Student Health), Mr D Lodge (Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Student Life), Mr T Osborne (Director of Finance), Mr T Ari (Warren & Mahoney), Mr David Bain (Project Manager), Mr R Michelle (Tumuaki-Takirua Te Awhioraki), Mr D Cooper (LUSA President), Mr A Pearson (Property Director), Mr Ted Rogers (Independent Chairperson, Lincoln University Property Joint Venture Limited), and Mr N Heslop (Council Secretary), be permitted to remain at this meeting after the public has been excluded, because of their knowledge of the various matters being discussed. This knowledge, which will be of assistance in relation to the matters to be discussed, is relevant to those matters because of their involvement in the development of reports to Council on these matters.

MOTION CARRIED

The public were readmitted to the meeting at 11.46am

13. Closure and next Meeting

The meeting closed at 12.56pm.

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, 27 February 2024 at 9am and will be held at Lincoln Campus.

CONFIRMED THIS 27th DAY OF February 2024

BRUCE GEMMELL CHANCELLOR